Administrative Suspension Law
Administrative Suspension Law - s. 322.2615, F.S., s. 316.193, F.S., s. 316.1932, F.S.
As our experienced Palm Beach and Broward County license suspension attorneys know, the Florida State Statutes deals with the particularities of the state’s administrative suspension law in subsections s. 322.2615, s. 316.193 and s. 316.1932. Our lawyers represent clients fighting a wide range of charges and, with our legal expertise and knowledge of local judicial practices, our attorneys strive to make sure that our clients receive the most lenient penalties allowed by law.
One of the penalties frequently imposed in Palm Beach and Broward County, especially for the offense of driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or other intoxicating substances as defined by the Florida State Statutes, is the revocation of a Florida driver’s license. Based on our knowledge of the above-mentioned subsections of the Florida State Statutes, our Palm Beach and Broward County license suspension attorneys have outlined on this page the license revocation penalties for a variety of offenses related to driving under the influence in the state of Florida.
For a first offense of DUI, your driver’s license will be revoked (suspended) for a minimum of 6 months, up to a maximum of 12 months. For a second offense of DUI that takes place within five years of a first DUI offense, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of five years up to a maximum of a lifetime. For a second DUI offense at least five years after your first DUI conviction, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months, up to a maximum of 12 months. For a third DUI offense, within ten years of a prior DUI conviction, your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 10 years and for a maximum of lifetime. For a third DUI offense outside of 10 years of a prior DUI conviction, your license will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months and for a maximum of a lifetime.
As our Palm Beach and Broward County DUI defense attorneys know, your license can also be revoked for refusing to submit to a breath, urine or blood test. For refusing to submit to a sobriety test for the first time, your license can be revoked for one year. For your second or subsequent refusal to submit to a sobriety test, your license can be revoked for 18 months. Be aware that refusing to submit to a sobriety test a second or subsequent time, after having previously refused to do so, is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in prison and/or up to $1,000.00 in fines. On your Florida license, at the very bottom, there is a note that claims that as a holder of a Florida license, you by default agree to submit to sobriety tests—therefore, failure to do so can be held against you and is punishable as listed above. This suspension is effective immediately; the officer involved in the incident will, however, issue a temporary permit to the driver, allowing the driver to legally drive for 10 days from the arrest date.
Our license suspension attorneys always strive to resolve these cases for our clients in a manner that will result in the re-issuing of the client’s license. As former prosecutors, we are uniquely skilled in assisting our clients in their effort to restore their right to drive.
If you have had your license revoked or suspended in Palm Beach, Broward or Miami-Dade County, contact one of our experienced license suspension attorneys at Leifert & Leifert. We can lobby on your behalf and get you driving as quickly as possible. If you have recently been arrested for a DUI, contact us immediately—you may have rights that you don’t know about. To schedule a free consultation, call 1-888-5-DEFEND (1-888-533-3363).