A person could be charged with a hit and run offense for leaving the scene of an auto accident without providing contact and insurance information. The penalties for the offense could include a potential jail sentence depending of the circumstances of the accident. Accused individuals should try to defend themselves in a Court of law, however, doing so without legal assistance could have a negative impact on their case.
If you have been charged with committing a hit and run accident, one of our experienced Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert could review the evidence against you and build a convincing defense on your behalf. Get in touch with a Delray Beach hit and run Lawyer for a free initial consultation today.
Duty to Provide Information and Render Aid After a Crash in Delray Beach
The Florida Statutes require drivers involved in a vehicle crash to provide their contact and insurance information to the owners of any vehicles or property that were damaged, to any individuals who were injured, or to a police or law enforcement officer on the scene. Leaving the scene of a vehicular crash without providing the required information could result in arrest, criminal charges, and prosecution. Information required to be provided by law includes:
- Driver’s name
- Driver’s address
- Registration number of vehicle
- Display driver’s license or permit upon request
- Insurance company name and policy number
Rendering aid includes making arrangements for the injured person to be transported to a doctor or hospital where medical care can be provided. The law requires individuals to render aid to anyone who has been injured as a result of a crash.
A Delray Beach hit and run Lawyer could answer questions about the legal duty to provide information and render aid following an automobile crash. An Attorney could also help you fight any allegations of failing to provide the appropriate information following a crash.
Remaining at the Scene of an Accident
The Florida Statutes mandate that drivers involved in a vehicular crash resulting in damage to another vehicle or property or bodily injury to another person must immediately stop their vehicle and remain at the scene. At a minimum, drivers must remain at the scene until after all information required by law has been provided to the appropriate individuals and aid has been rendered. A hit and run Lawyer in Delray Beach could answer questions about the legal requirements to remain at the scene of an accident involving property damage or bodily injury.
Hit and Run Penalties in Delray Beach
The penalties for hit and run in Delray Beach vary based on the extent of a person’s injuries or damage. Failure to remain at the scene of a crash resulting in damage to another vehicle or property is a second-degree Misdemeanor punishable by up to 60 days in Jail and a $500 fine.
Failing to stay at an accident in which another person sustained minor injuries is a third-degree Felony punishable by up to five years in Jail and a $5,000 fine. If a serious bodily injury occurred, the offense would be charged as a second-degree Felony punishable by up to 15 years in Prison and a $10,000 fine.
Leaving the scene of a vehicular crash in which another person died is a first-degree Felony. The penalty is a mandatory minimum Prison term of four years with the possibility of serving up to 30 years, as well as a $10,000 fine. A Delray Beach hit and run Lawyer could answer specific questions about the penalties for hit and run offenses.
Contact a Delray Beach Hit and Run Attorney Immediately
You are not alone in dealing with an investigation or criminal charges for hit and run. A Delray Beach hit and run Lawyer could be on your side, protecting your rights. An Attorney could also help you gather any evidence that would support your defense, interview parties on your behalf, and guide you through the criminal process throughout the case. To get started on your case, be sure to schedule a consultation with one of our experienced Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert today.