Car crashes are dangerous and chaotic, especially when they occur in the middle of a busy street or highway. When involved in a crash, drivers must fulfill important legal duties before leaving the scene of an accident or risk hit-and-run charges.

When you face criminal charges related to leaving a car crash, our dedicated Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert can help by building a Delray Beach hit-and-run defense for you. We can investigate what happened and show that you did not commit a crime after the crash.

Understanding Hit and Runs in Florida

Florida defines a hit-and-run as leaving the scene of a car accident without taking certain actions. Building your defense against hit-and-run charges in Delray Beach requires knowing those actions, starting with a duty to return to the scene and remain there.

Stopping, Returning, and Remaining at the Scene

Florida Statutes § 316.027 creates the general duty to stop your vehicle, return to the crash, and remain there. For crashes injuring a person or leading to death, leaving the scene without giving certain information and aid can become a Felony:

  • Crash causing injury: third-degree Felony, up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000 fine
  • Crash causing serious bodily harm: second-degree Felony, up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine
  • Crash causing death: first-degree Felony, up to 30 years in prison and a $10,000 fine

For crashes only damaging a vehicle or property with the owner present, a driver must still stop, return to the crime scene, and provide their information under Florida Statutes § 316.061. Failing to do so is only a second-degree Misdemeanor, but still punishable by up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.

Information and Aid Required After a Crash

Avoiding hit and run also includes giving information and aid. Florida Statutes § 316.062 requires giving the following:

  • Name, address, and vehicle registration number to the other person involved and to a Police Officer at the scene or investigating the crash
  • Driver’s license or permit, if requested by either the person involved or a police officer
  • Help with receiving medical treatment for the other person if necessary or requested, such as by calling for an ambulance

According to § 316.062, you must report a crash to the Police with the required information if the other people involved cannot receive that information, such as when unconscious or in medical treatment.

The same duty remains if you hit an unattended car or other property, as described by § 316.063. A driver must locate the owner of the unattended property and give them the information listed above, or they must attach a conspicuous note with their information and alert the Police that a crash has occurred. Leaving without doing so can lead to a second-degree Misdemeanor with the same punishments as leaving the scene of a crash with the other person present. A Delray Beach Attorney can go over this in your initial consultation about crafting a defense for the hit-and-run case.

Defending Against Hit-and-Run Charges

Knowing the possible charges and penalties for committing a hit and run should highlight the importance of building a solid defense. Working with one of our Lawyers can help you get the best result possible for a crash in Delray Beach.

The first step in building a defense is clarifying whether you were the person involved. In these accidents, the victim might only get a glimpse at the car or driver responsible, so they could misidentify the perpetrator, which could lead to your arrest. Getting legal representation as soon as possible can help ensure you do not go to jail or get charged for someone else’s Criminal actions.

When you are involved in a crash, you might have done everything you could to follow the law and still be charged with a hit and run under the state’s rules, where our Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert can argue on your behalf. You might have given the required information, tried to remain at the scene, and made an honest mistake while doing so, meaning that you did not leave “willfully” as required to commit the crime.

Consult an Attorney in Delray Beach About a Hit-and-Run Defense

The most important thing to remember if you have been arrested for hit and run or charged is to get legal representation. A Lawyer from Leifert & Leifert can make sure that you can defend yourself from Prosecution and even prove your innocence.

Building a Delray Beach hit-and-run defense as soon as possible can help you avoid significant jail time and fines and let you keep your driver’s license. To learn more about what our Attorneys can do for you, call us immediately.

Delray Beach Hit and Run Lawyer
Palm Beach Gardens
  • Palm Beach Gardens
  • 800 Village Square Crossing
    Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
  • Wellington
  • 12230 Forest Hill Blvd
    Wellington, FL 33414
  • Ft Lauderdale
  • 6550 N. Federal Highway
    Suite #220
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
  • West Palm Beach
  • 2101 Vista Parkway
    #1006
    West Palm Beach, FL 33411
  • Delray Beach
  • 2160 W Atlantic Ave
    2nd Floor
    Delray Beach, FL 33445
  • Plantation
  • 1200 S Pine Island Rd
    #220
    Plantation, FL 33324
  • Boca Raton
  • 10055 Yamato Road
    Suite 509
    Boca Raton, FL 33498
  • Delray Beach
  • 2160 W Atlantic Ave
    2nd Floor
    Delray Beach, FL 33445
Palm Beach  Gardens
Wellington
Ft Lauderdale
west palm beach location
Delray Beach
Plantation-location