A hit and run traffic offense is considered to be a much more severe offense than a speeding or failure to yield charge. Considering the extensive amount of jail time a person could face upon leaving the scene of an accident, it is strongly urged for individuals to retain legal assistance in order to effectively combat the charges made against them.
If you have been accused of committing a hit and run offense, be sure to get in touch with one of our skilled traffic attorneys at Leifert & Leifert today. A Jupiter hit and run lawyer could review the facts of your case during your free consultation and advise you on your legal next steps.
Requirements of Drivers Following an Accident
As noted in Florida Statute §316.062, the law states that anyone involved in a car accident where another vehicle or person is injured must stay at the site of the accident. Following an accident, you should provide the following information:
- Vehicle Registration Number
- Driver’s License
- Insurance information
If there is an injured person, you should make sure the injured person receives medical treatment. If a police officer arrives, you should give information to the officer about the accident without providing incriminating information.
Penalties for Property Damage
If you cause damage to a person’s car and leave the scene of the accident, the offense would be considered a second-degree misdemeanor, as described in Florida Statute §316.061. You could also be sentenced to jail for up to 60 days and order to pay a fine of up to $500.
Penalties for Injury to People
According to Florida Statute §316.027, if you injure another person and flee the site of the crash, the State may charge you with a second or third-degree felony. This includes injury to a pedestrian, bicyclist, skateboarder, driver or anyone else using the road. Although you are required to pull over after being involved in a crash, you should make sure to move your vehicle out of the way of traffic.
The Court may also revoke your driver’s license for up to three years, put you in jail for up to five to fifteen years (depending on the crime charged), and make you pay a $5,000 fine.
Penalties for Fatalities
If the person you crashed into succumbs to their injuries, you may be charged with a first-degree felony. The court may permanently suspend your driver’s license. The court may also send you to jail for up to 30 years and order a fine of up to $10,000. Even if you are not facing criminal accusations, the court may still require you to complete up to 120 hours of community service at a trauma center or hospital. For more information, contact a Jupiter hit and run Lawyer today.
Contact a Jupiter Hit and Run Attorney Today
If you were involved in an accident, you may be scared and still shaken. No matter what happened afterward, if the police charge you with leaving the scene, you may need legal representation. If you have been in an accident and fled the scene, you should talk to an Attorney before you speak to the Police.
Oftentimes, we can help defuse and mitigate the situation for you. If you are concerned about possible accusations, speak with an Attorney to learn more about your rights and how you can defend yourself. A Jupiter hit and run lawyer at Leifert & Leifert may be able to offer invaluable advice and aid you in understanding and handling your legal matter.