When involved in a car accident, drivers are to pull over to the side of the road and check to see if the other driver requires medical attention. When drivers fail to do so, they may be charged with a hit and run offense. Depending upon the circumstances of the situation, you could potentially be charged with Felony offense. Having a Felony conviction on your record could alter your life in an unfavorable manner.
If you have been accused of committing a hit and run following an accident, be sure to get in touch with one of our dedicated traffic Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert who could fight to get you the most favorable result. A Pompano Beach hit and run Lawyer may be able to help you build a defense in order to dismiss or reduce the severity of the accusations made against you. To get started on your case, be sure to arrange an appointment as soon as conveniently possible.
What is a Hit and Run in Pompano Beach?
A hit and run accusation may have severe and drastic implications upon your life. Depending on the circumstance of your accident, you may be charged with a Misdemeanor or a Felony offense. When deciding to charge someone with a hit and run offense, the Court may consider the following factors:
- Harm to property
- Injury to a person
- Necessary medical attention
- Death of the alleged victim
The law directs that anyone involved in a car accident must stay at the scene and provide information to the other driver or a police officer, as found in Florida Statute §316.062. You may be required to give your name, address, vehicle registration number, and driver’s license number to the Police Officer. If the other driver is injured, you should make sure that they receive the medical attention they need. If you have any questions about hit and run accident charges, contact one of our dedicated Lawyers at Leifert & Leifert.
Failing to Assist an Injured Driver
If you cause another driver injury and then leave the scene of the accident, the Court may charge you with a second or third-degree Felony. Failure to do so could cause the Court to sentence you to five years in prison and be ordered to pay a fine of $5,000. Your driver’s license could also be revoked as well.
If the victim dies as a result of the accident, you may face a first-degree penalty. If convicted, you may be facing 30 years in jail a $10,000 fine. In addition, you may have to complete 120 hours of community service as well. Individuals facing these severe penalties should consult with a seasoned hit and run Lawyer in Pompano Beach immediately.
Causing Damage to Property
In Pompano Beach, it is a crime to leave the scene of an accident where a driver caused property damage. This may include damage to mailboxes, fences, homes, and other vehicles. The Court may charge you with a second-degree Misdemeanor which, according to Florida Stature 316.061, may involve a prison sentence of 60 days and a $500 fine.
Get Help from a Pompano Beach Hit and Run Attorney
Being charged with a hit and run offense is a serious matter which calls for the assistance of one of our professional Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert. A Pompano Beach hit and run Lawyer could sit with you to find out more about the seriousness of your offense and develop a defense worthy of combatting the accusations made against you. However, it is recommended to schedule a consultation sooner rather than later. Call today to arrange an appointment today.