The common image of a “burglar,” is usually a masked man dressed in black sneaking into a home with a crowbar and a pillowcase. Obviously, this is not always the case.
Burglary means entering a home, building, or vehicle uninvited with the intention of committing a crime, such as theft or assault. It is commonly referred to a trespass to someone else’s property with the intent to commit another crime after the illegal entry.
A person could also be charged with burglary if he or she is invited to a property, but secretly remains after being told to leave. A theft or assault does not actually have to be committed for a burglary charge to be brought against you. If you are facing burglary charges, you may feel overwhelmed or fearful of the unknown, but the advice and assistance of a West Palm Beach burglary attorney can help clear this confusion. A West Palm Beach defense lawyer can provide you with the legal support and representation you need in order to obtain the best possible result. En Español.
In Florida, burglary is a felony offense that, if convicted could involve fines, jail, prison, probation or a combination of these. Burglary offenses are treated relatively severely in Palm Beach County, especially when someone’s home or residence is involved.
Our burglary lawyers in West Palm Beach can help you by:
A West Palm Beach burlgary attorney can help those charged with burglary in Florida in a variety of cases, including:
The State of Florida has three degrees of burglary: first degree, second degree, and third degree. These charges depend on whether a person enters an occupied or unoccupied dwelling, building, or vehicle and whether or not a person is armed or commits an assault or battery during the commission of the Burglary.
Depending on the severity of the crime, a person charged with burglary in Florida could face harsh penalties ranging from five years in prison and a fine of $5,000 to life imprisonment and $10,000 in fines (see Florida Statutes Sections 775.082, 775.083, and 775.084.)
Maximum prison sentences depend on the degree of the burglary. For a third degree felony, the maximum sentence is five years; for a second-degree felony, it’s 15 years; and for a first-degree burglary, it could be a life sentence. In Florida, life is life, there is no parole in this State
Even though the State of Florida sets these maximum sentences, they are subject to extensions based on a person’s prior felonies, if a person is considered a career criminal or if anyone is injured during the commission of the crime.
Being charged with burglary, or even being investigated for burglary, can have a serious impact on your future livelihood and lifestyle. It can affect your job, family life, finances, and take a toll on your emotional well-being.
Fortunately, you could have legal options. A burglary attorney in West Palm Beach could offer you the legal support, advice, and assistance you need to help make sure your rights are being protected and that you get the best possible result or outcome.
As former prosecutors, we are ready, willing and able to fight on your behalf so that you can get your life back on track after a burglary charge. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help you if you are being charged or investigated for any type of burglary charge in West Palm Beach.
Leifert & Leifert Criminal DefenseNA