Being convicted of a sex crime in Florida is a very serious offense. It is one that carries a strong stigma accused individuals may have to carry with them for the rest of their life. En Español.
When someone has been convicted of a sex crime in Florida, they must register as a sex offender, and their criminal record may never be expunged. A Florida sex offender must constantly register and report to the local Sheriff’s and has many restrictions on where they may reside and who they may associate with. Violations of these rules are serious and can result in a lengthy State Prison sentence.
While there are lengthy Jail or State Prison sentences and hefty fines that come with a sex crime conviction, it is often these lifelong consequences that are the hardest. When someone has been charged with or accused of a sex crime, it is imperative that they speak with a West Palm Beach sex crimes lawyer immediately. Contact an experienced attorney today.
There are four main sex crimes prosecuted in Palm Beach County, Florida courts: sexual battery, lewd and lascivious acts, indecent exposure, and child pornography.
Sexual battery is often referred to as rape or assault, and it involves forceful penetration of the mouth, genitals or anus with the accused’s genitals or another object.
In court, consent will be one of the biggest focuses of a sexual battery case. While consent must be given for any sexual act, there are instances in which the Court will ignore any consent given. These include cases when the victim is 12 years old or younger (known as statutory rape), instances when the victim was drugged or unconsciousness and if the victim is physically or mentally challenged.
Depending on the severity of the crime, the ages of the victim and the accused, and whether a weapon was used, sexual battery charges are typically classified as a third-degree felony. In situations where the battery is considered to be especially violent, these crimes can be classified as a capital (life) felony.
Sexual battery is one of the worst sex crimes an individual can be charged with. It is crucial that anyone facing these charges contact a sex crimes lawyer in West Palm Beach.
In Florida, these acts must be committed against someone that is 16 years old or younger. There is no defense for claiming that the accused did not know the victim’s age, nor is claiming that the victim gave consent. The state of Florida classifies these crimes into four different categories:
Indecent exposure refers to an individual exposing their genitals in an indecent, lewd or vulgar manner. In order to be considered a crime, this must be done in a place that can be seen by others, such as a park or other public place.
If it is done on the accused’s property, it can also be considered a crime if it is within sight of others. This is a first-degree misdemeanor in Florida.
Owning any material that shows a minor in sexual acts of any kind is a third-degree felony under Florida law. It is also a third-degree felony to sell, produce, promote, or distribute any material depicting child pornography. Sending child pornography through email, mail, or online, could be classified as a Federal offense.
Being charged with a sex crime in Florida is considered a very serious offense. In addition to a permanent criminal record that can never be expunged and being required to register as a sex offender, convicted individuals are forbidden from living within 1,000 feet of where children will be present such as at a school, park, playground or day care center.
If you or a loved one has been charged with a sex crime, call a Palm Beach County sex crimes lawyer that can review your case and work for the best possible outcome.
Leifert & Leifert Criminal DefenseNA