Driving Without a Valid Driver’s License in Florida
Driving without a Valid Driver License in Florida is a misdemeanor of the second-degree, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and/or $500 in fines. More seriously, though, if you are found to be operating a Commercial Motor Vehicle without having a proper Commercial Driver License, a first-degree misdemeanor, you face up to 1 year in prison and/or $1,000 fines, unless you had a proper license but it has been expired for 30 days or less, in which cause the offense is considered a nonmoving violation.
S. 322.03 specifies that if you are arrested for/accused of/charged with a violation of this section, but you (prior to your court or hearing appearance) produce in court or to the clerk of the court in which the charge is pending a driver license issued to you and valid at the time of his or her arrest, you may not be convicted. In such a case, the clerk of the court is authorized to dismiss the case at any time prior to the defendant’s appearance in court.
If you have recently been arrested for or accused of driving without a Valid Driver’s License, or if you are facing any No Valid Driver License charge(s) in Fort Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, Miami-Dade or any other part of South Florida, contact a traffic lawyer for immediate help.
The Fort Lauderdale criminal defense lawyers at the Law Offices of Leifert & Leifert will look for ways to achieve dismissal of your No Valid Driver License charges or seek alternative resolutions that will aim at achieving the possibility of dismissal. Our criminal defense and criminal traffic defense lawyers are routinely in criminal traffic court in West Palm Beach, Broward and Miami-Dade County. We know the system very well, and we’ve helped individuals just like you successfully fight charges of driving without a Valid Driver License.