What is the Penalty for Hit-and-Run in Florida?

What is the Penalty for Hit-and-Run in Florida?

Hit-and-run crimes occur when a driver involved in a car crash leaves the scene without fulfilling their legal obligations to those involved. Motorists in a wreck must stop, return to the scene, and remain there while taking certain actions.

Being charged with a hit-and-run can carry serious consequences, including jail time, hefty fines, and loss of driving privileges. Our team at Leifert & Leifert can inform you of the penalties you may face if convicted of hit-and-run in Florida. Call today for a free consultation with one of our well-practiced criminal defense Attorneys.

What is a Hit-and-Run in Florida?

Florida law defines a hit-and-run as leaving the scene of a car crash without giving your information, such as your name, address, vehicle registration number, and (if requested) your driver’s license or permit, as detailed in Florida Statutes Section 316.062. In addition, you must give aid to others who might be injured if they need or request medical treatment, such as calling an ambulance.

When property damage occurs in a hit-and-run, such as a car or home, Florida Statutes § 316.027 considers this a second-degree misdemeanor. However, illegally leaving a crash that has left someone hurt is considered a Felony, increasing by degree depending on the injury.

These statutes also describe how to leave your details if you crash into a car or property without the owner present (Section 316.063) and how to give the police your information if others involved are incapacitated (Section 316.061). For in-depth legal analysis and application of Florida’s hit-and-run laws, you should seek legal counsel from one of our dedicated lawyers at Leifert & Leifert.

Hit-and-Run Penalties

Each level of hit-and-run in Florida, dependent on the context, has its own set of possible penalties that you could face.

The most significant consequences fall under hit-and-run crashes that result in injury. The term “injury” can mean a few different things, with penalties increasing by severity under Section 316.027:

  • Hit-and-run causing an injury (but not serious harm)—third-degree Felony, up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines
  • Hit-and-run causing serious bodily harm—second-degree Felony, up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines
  • Hit-and-run causing death—first-degree Felony, up to 30 years in prison and $10,000 in fines

For a crash causing a fatality, there is also a mandatory minimum sentence of 4 years in prison, guaranteed as the minimum time spent in jail if convicted. Regardless of the Felony level, you will lose your driver’s license for at least three years and must complete a victim impact panel session or an approved driver improvement course to regain the right to drive.

The penalties for hit-and-run where there is no injury to a person, only to property, are less severe but still significant. A second-degree misdemeanor carries a sentence of up to 60 days in jail and a fine of $500.

Learn More About the Penalty for Hit-and-Run in Florida Today

Hit-and-run penalties must be taken seriously. With thousands of dollars in fines and the possibility of decades in prison, these charges can be severe. However, with the help of a hardworking lawyer, you will not have to face the process alone.

If you want to learn more about hit-and-run defense, speak with one of our Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert. We can work to defend your future from hit-and-run penalties in Florida. Call as soon as possible for a consultation on your case.

Palm Beach Gardens
  • Palm Beach Gardens
  • 800 Village Square Crossing
    Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
  • Wellington
  • 12230 Forest Hill Blvd
    Wellington, FL 33414
  • Ft Lauderdale
  • 6550 N. Federal Highway
    Suite #220
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
  • West Palm Beach
  • 2101 Vista Parkway
    #1006
    West Palm Beach, FL 33411
  • Delray Beach
  • 2160 W Atlantic Ave
    2nd Floor
    Delray Beach, FL 33445
  • Plantation
  • 1200 S Pine Island Rd
    #220
    Plantation, FL 33324
  • Boca Raton
  • 10055 Yamato Road
    Suite 509
    Boca Raton, FL 33498
Get Direction
  • Boca Raton
  • 10055 Yamato Road
    Suite 509
    Boca Raton, FL 33498
Get Direction
  • Plantation
  • 1200 S Pine Island Rd
    #220
    Plantation, FL 33324
Plantation-location
Get Direction
  • Delray Beach
  • 2160 W Atlantic Ave
    2nd Floor
    Delray Beach, FL 33445
Delray Beach
Get Direction
  • West Palm Beach
  • 2101 Vista Parkway
    #1006
    West Palm Beach, FL 33411
west palm beach location
Get Direction
  • Ft Lauderdale
  • 6550 N. Federal Highway
    Suite #220
    Fort Lauderdale, FL 33308
Ft Lauderdale
Get Direction
  • Wellington
  • 12230 Forest Hill Blvd
    Wellington, FL 33414
Wellington
Get Direction
  • Palm Beach Gardens
  • 800 Village Square Crossing
    Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Palm Beach  Gardens
Palm Beach  Gardens
Wellington
Ft Lauderdale
west palm beach location
Delray Beach
Plantation-location