Wellington Hit and Run Lawyer
When charged with a hit and run accident, you may not only be at risk for Misdemeanor charges but Felony charges as well. Having a criminal conviction on your record could significantly impact your life for the worse. However, there may be legal options available to those who are proactive in seeking legal assistance to help mitigate the accusations made against them.
If you have been charged with fleeing the scene of an accident, whether the accident was your own at or the fault of another, it is imperative that you retain the services of one of our well-versed defense Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert. A Wellington hit and run accident Lawyer may be able to build a suitable presentation for your defense and potentially gain the outcome you most desire favor or need.
Penalties of a Hit and Run Offense
Hit and run offenses resulting in property damages may be charged as a second-degree Misdemeanor. Sanctions for a second-degree Misdemeanor conviction could result in a Jail sentence of up to 60 days and a fine of up to $500. As this offense does carry the potential for incarceration, getting the advice of a hit and run Lawyer in Wellington may be useful.
The potential criminal charges and penalties that you may face for failing to stop at the scene of an accident involving injury and death are far higher than those for accidents involving only property damage. Under Fla. Stat. § 316.062 and Fla. Stat. § 316.027, you should not only stop, provide identifying information, and notify Law Enforcement, but you should also render “reasonable assistance” to any injured persons. As a result, depending on the situation, individuals in this position should make sure that anyone with apparent injuries receives medical care, such as by calling an ambulance to the scene.
If you were aware or should have been aware, that you were involved in a crash that resulted in property damage, physical injuries, or death to others, and willfully failed to stop or remain at the scene, you could face Felony criminal charges. Leaving the scene of a crash with injuries is a third-degree Felony, and if the injuries are serious, then the offense may be increased to a second-degree Felony. Leaving the scene of a fatal accident is also considered to be a first-degree Felony under Florida law.
Steps to Take Following a Hit and Run
Fla. Stat. § 316.061 states that drivers should stop at or near the scene of the accident, provide the other driver with certain identifying information, and contact Law Enforcement about the accident. If they cannot locate the owner of the vehicle or property, you must leave written notice of their identifying information at the site of the property damage.
These same duties extend to accidents that involve bodily injury or death, as well. Although those accidents have enhanced requirements under Florida law, individuals should also stop at the scene and provide certain information to the other parties involved, just as in the case of a crash resulting solely in property damage. For more information, contact a seasoned Lawyer from Leifert & Leifert.
Contact a Wellington Hit and Run Attorney for Help
The potential ramifications of leaving the scene of an accident resulting in property damages, injuries, or death can be severe. You may be facing years in prison, high fines, and the loss of your license, along with a permanent criminal conviction. Enlisting the aid of a Wellington hit and run Lawyer may put you in a stronger position to achieve a more favorable outcome to the charges against you. To get started on your case, be sure to get in touch with a Leifert & Leifert experienced criminal Attorney.