New Florida Traffic Laws Mean Higher Fees for Drivers in Broward and Palm Beach
Our South Florida traffic lawyers have been following several new laws that took effect in Florida earlier this week. As part of these new laws, Florida drivers will pay more for their yearly vehicle registrations, license renewals, vehicle plates, and several other areas associated with driving.
An initial Florida license will cost $48, up from $27 and a renewal license will jump from $20 to $48. The late payment on a driver’s license will increase from $1 to $15.
Collection of the fees begins September 1, and these new charges are part of the Florida Legislature’s efforts to balance their budget, which had a deficit. Florida has nearly 19 million registered cars, and the experts predict that the new motorist fees could generate around $800 million in 2010 and even more in the years to come.
Another change to Florida traffic law is the introduction of the Dori Slosberg and Katie Marchetti Safety Belt Law, which allows police offers in Boward, Palm Beach and throughout Florida to stop drivers simply for not wearing a seat belt. In the past, drivers could only be pulled over for other offenses and then cited for failing to wear a seatbelt.
Police saturate Palm Beach County roads with eye towards seatbelts, Palm Beach Post, July 1, 2009
Cigarettes, traffic fines, driver licenses to cost more starting today as new state laws take effect, Palm Beach Post, July 1, 2009
Drivers fees taking big bumps, South Florida Sun Sentinel, June 30, 2009
If you questions on traffic violations, tickets, or crimes, a Broward County traffic attorney at Leifert & Leifert can help.
Some New Fee Changes for Drivers in Broward, Palm Beach and the rest of Florida (9/1/09):
Florida Driver License Fees
Initial license fee for first Florida license – $48 Learner driver license – $48 Class E renewal – $48 Commercial Driver License (CDL) – $75 Replacement license – $25
Other Florida Driver License Fees
Motorcycle endorsement – $7 Identification card – $25 D-6 suspension reinstatement – $60 Formal or Informal Administrative Review filing fee – $25