Driving in the Boca Raton area comes with many responsibilities, including following local traffic laws. The most important of these laws requires drivers to stop at the scene of a collision that results in property damage or physical harm to another. Failing to do so can have life-altering consequences.
When considering hit and run penalties in Boca Raton, all people must take every step possible to follow these laws. Violations could see a person facing prosecution under the state’s criminal laws and indicate fault in a civil case demanding compensation for property damage or physical injuries. Talk with an Attorney now for more information about the consequences of hit and runs.
Leaving the Scene of an Incident Where there is Property Damage
State law places a significant burden on all drivers to act responsibly. Under Florida Statute § 316.061, drivers must stop and remain at the scene of a crash involving property damage until they provide identifying information to the other driver. This includes showing a copy of their driver’s license.
Violations of this law come with harsh penalties. In fact, not staying at the scene of property damage is a Misdemeanor-level criminal offense. This means a conviction will create a criminal record, can result in a Jail sentence of as long as 60 days, and can require a driver to pay a fine of up to $500.
Hit and run penalties can also indicate fault for an accident in a civil case in Boca Raton. In these situations, other drivers attempt to collect money from at-fault drivers for their physical injuries and property damage. While leaving the scene of a collision is not direct evidence of fault, it looks bad in front of insurance companies and juries. As a result, leaving the scene of a crash can have severe financial consequences.
What Happens if the Wreck Results in Physical Injury or Death?
Most collisions between motor vehicles will result in only property damage. However, some collisions could cause injuries to passengers in other cars, drivers, and pedestrians. When this is the case, the drivers of other vehicles have a duty under the law to remain on the scene. This obligation includes summoning medical help and providing reasonable care to injured individuals.
A failure to meet this obligation is even more severe than when the case involves mere property damage. Hit and run penalties resulting from physical injuries bring felony-level charges in Boca Raton. Under Florida Statute § 316.027, these cases are Felonies of the second degree where convictions may result in prison sentences as long as 30 years. An Attorney can help people facing allegations of hit and runs resulting in severe physical injuries build powerful defenses against these allegations in Court.
Build a Defense to Hit and Run Penalties in Boca Raton with an Attorney
Leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal offense. This includes situations where the incident involves property damage and cases where the event results in another’s injury or death. In all examples, a conviction will create a criminal record. In the most extreme examples, it will label you as a felon.
It is critical to understand the hit and run penalties in Boca Raton and how to avoid them. This includes complying with the law to the best of one’s ability and preparing defenses against potential criminal prosecution. Speak with an Attorney now to obtain more information about defenses to these penalties.