Committing a hit and run—also known as leaving the scene of an accident—in the State of Florida is a serious criminal offense that can be charged as either a Misdemeanor or a Felony depending on the circumstances of the accident. Receiving such a charge could be frightening, overwhelming, and may leave you unsure of how to proceed.
Whether the accident you were involved in was a fender bender or a serious incident, penalties for a hit and run accident conviction could be severe—regardless if you are an adult or a juvenile. As such, it may be important for you to reach out to a skilled traffic defense Attorney who is familiar with hit and run accidents and the laws which may apply to such a case. Meet with a Boca Raton hit and run accident Lawyer from Leifert & Leifert for a free consultation to explore different defense strategy possibilities and begin fighting your charge.
Defining Hit and Run
According to Florida Statutes §316.062, an individual involved in a motor vehicle accident that results in property damage, injury, or death is required to provide personal information to the respective property owner, occupant of the other vehicle, driver of the other vehicle, and/or police officer at the scene. The driver is also required by law to provide aid to anyone injured in the accident. When someone fails to do so, they may be charged with hit and run.
Potential Hit and Run Penalties in Boca Raton
If a person is accused of committing a hit and run, there are different potential punishments depending on the circumstances of the accident. When someone leaves the scene of an accident that resulted in property damage, they could be charged with a Second-Degree Misdemeanor. This may result in up to 60 days in county jail and fines of up to $500.
When someone leaves the scene of an accident that resulted in one or more individuals being injured, they may be charged with a Third-Degree Felony. Additionally, this could result in a sentence of up to five years in prison as well as fines of up to $5,000.
Furthermore, if someone leaves the scene of an accident that resulted in the death of one or more individuals, they typically would be charged with a First-Degree Felony. A conviction for such a charge could result in up to 30 years in prison plus fines of up to $10,000.
Before speaking to Law Enforcement, any individual accused of hit and run should speak to a hit and run accident Lawyer in Boca Raton to explore their options and develop a game plan for moving forward with a legally valid defense.
Speak to a Boca Raton Hit and Run Accident Attorney
Leaving an accident without checking on and providing personal contact information with the other party could lead to a hit and run charge in Boca Raton. If you are accused of leaving the scene of an accident in the State of Florida, you may want to seek the legal advice of a knowledgeable Boca Raton hit and run accident Lawyer as soon as possible to explore potential options for a defense strategy.
Our legal team here at Leifert & Leifert could work on your behalf to establish a credible legal defense and possibly advocate on your behalf in front of a Judge. Be sure to reach out today to an Attorney who understands hit and run accident cases and the complexities surrounding them.