The constitutional rights of individuals to keep and bear arms is subject to a myriad of Federal and State laws regulating the ownership, sale, possession, manufacture, use, transportation, and purchase of guns and ammunition.
Any person who is accused of committing a gun-related crime in Florida will be subject to serious penalties if convicted. If you have been charged with a gun crime, it is essential that you seek an experienced and knowledgeable Boynton Beach gun lawyer right away.
A skilled criminal lawyer in Boynton Beach will have extensive experience representing clients charged with felony and misdemeanor firearms offenses and understand what it takes to build a successful defense strategy.
Florida Gun Laws
Weapons and firearms crimes are outlined in Chapter 790 of the Florida Statutes. These are offenses in which the unlawful carrying, possession, storage, or use of a firearm is an essential element. Those offenses include, but are not limited to:
- Unlicensed carrying of a concealed firearm (third-degree felony)
- Possession of a firearm by a convicted felon (mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years imprisonment)
- Knowingly discharging a firearm in a public place (first-degree misdemeanor, second-degree felony, or third-degree felony depending on specific circumstances of the offense)
- Improper exhibition of a dangerous weapon or firearm (first-degree misdemeanor)
- Openly carrying a handgun or carrying a concealed firearm in a location prohibited by Section 790.06(12) or federal law (second-degree misdemeanor)
- Using a firearm while under the influence of alcohol, chemical substances, or controlled substances (second-degree misdemeanor)
- Unsafe storage of firearm, which results in a minor (under the age of 16 years) gaining access to the firearm (second-degree misdemeanor)
Florida is a “shall issue” state, which means that The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is required to issue a license to carry a concealed weapon or firearm to qualified applicants. A “concealed firearm” means the gun is carried on or about a person in such a manner that is obscured from the ordinary sight of another. Florida prohibits the open carrying of firearms with a few exceptions. To best understand these exceptions, a person should contact a gun lawyer in Boynton Beach as soon as possible.
Minimum Mandatory Sentences
Florida law distinguishes between the various gun offenses listed in Chapter 790 and firearm enhancements. Florida’s main firearm enhancement law is 10-20-Life, which requires mandatory minimum sentences to be imposed when firearms are involved in the commission of certain crimes, such as murder, sexual battery, robbery, burglary, or arson.
When a person is convicted of a felony offense listed under 10-20-Life, it can trigger the following minimum sentences:
- 10 years – Possession of a firearm or destructive device during commission of the offense
- 20 years – Discharged a firearm or destructive device during commission of the offense
- 25 years to Life – Discharged a firearm or destructive device during commission of the offense and it resulted in the death or great bodily harm to another
To help defend against such penalties, an individual should consult with a gun lawyer in Boynton Beach immediately.
Contact a Lawyer
Whether you are dealing with a misdemeanor firearm charge or facing the potential of mandatory minimum sentencing under Florida’s 10-20-Life, you simply cannot afford to be without a qualified Boynton Beach gun attorney.
An experienced gun lawyer in Boynton Beach will be familiar with handling gun crimes and firearms enhancements and will do everything possible to secure the most favorable outcome in your case.