One of the penalties frequently imposed in Florida, especially for the offense of driving while under the influence of alcohol and/or other intoxicating substances as defined by the Florida State Statutes, is the revocation of a Florida driver’s license. Our Ft Lauderdale DUI license suspension lawyers have outlined the revocation penalties for a variety of offenses related to driving under the influence in the state of Florida and can help any client to better understand the potential consequences.
Length of a DUI License Suspension
For a first offense DUI, a person’s driver’s license will be revoked (suspended) for a minimum of 6 months, up to a maximum of 12 months. For a second offense of DUI that takes place within five years of a first DUI offense, their driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of five years up to a maximum of a lifetime. For a second DUI offense at least five years after their first DUI conviction, their driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months, up to a maximum of 12 months.
For a third DUI offense, within ten years of a prior DUI conviction, someone’s driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 10 years and for a maximum of a lifetime. For a third DUI offense outside of 10 years of a prior DUI conviction, their license will be revoked for a minimum of 6 months and for a maximum of a lifetime. If someone has been charged with DUI, they should speak with a Ft. Lauderdale attorney to discuss the length of their license suspension.
As Ft Lauderdale DUI attorneys know, a person’s license can also be suspended for refusing to submit to a breath, urine or blood test. For refusing to submit to a sobriety test for the first time, their license can be revoked for one year. For the second or subsequent refusal to submit to a sobriety test, their license can be revoked for 18 months. Refusing to submit to a sobriety test a second or subsequent time, after having previously refused to do so, is a first-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to 1 year in prison and/or up to $1,000 in fines.
On someone’s Florida license, at the very bottom, there is a note that claims that as a holder of a Florida license, they, by default, agree to submit to sobriety tests—therefore, failure to do so can be held against you and is punishable as listed above. This license suspension is effective immediately; the officer involved in the incident will, however, issue a temporary permit to the driver, allowing the driver to legally drive for 10 days from the arrest date.
How a Ft. Lauderdale Attorney Can Help After a DUI License Suspension
Ft Lauderdale DUI attorneys always strive to resolve these cases for their clients in a manner that will result in the re-issuing of the client’s license. As former prosecutors, they are uniquely skilled in assisting their clients in their effort to restore their right to drive.
If you have had your license revoked, contact experienced Ft. Lauderdale DUI license suspension lawyer. They can lobby on your behalf and get you driving as quickly as possible.