Ft. Lauderdale DUI Penalties

Unlike many other allegations of criminal activity, Driving Under the Influence usually does not involve a conscious effort on the part of the driver to engage in criminal activity. Most criminal cases involve intent to hurt, steal, damage or destroy. Unlike so many other types of criminal cases, the typical person accused of DUI has no other criminal history and is otherwise a productive member of society. This aspect is what makes the allegation that much more devastating. Because the legislature has increasingly been imposing stricter penalties for the offense of DUI, coupled with the driver’s license implications, it is imperative that you seek the representation of an experienced DUI attorney.

Both Brian and Douglas Leifert represented the State of Florida as DUI prosecutors in Broward and Palm Beach County Florida and have been representing individuals charged with DUI for a combined total of twenty-four years.

APPLICABLE PENALTIES FOR DUI OFFENSES
FIRST OFFENSE
(refusal or BAC < .15)
  • $500 – $1,000 fine
  • Mandatory misdemeanor conviction
  • 6 – 12 months probation
  • Applicable court costs
  • DUI school and recommended treatment
  • Community Service hours
  • Victim impact panel
  • 6 months driver’s license suspension
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • Drug/Alcohol testing
  • 0 – 6 months jail
SECOND OFFENSE
  • $1,000 – $2,000 fine
  • Mandatory misdemeanor conviction
  • 6 – 12 months probation
  • Applicable court costs
  • Level 2 DUI school and recommended treatment
  • Community Service hours
  • Victim impact panel
  • 6 months – 5 years driver’s license suspension (5 years minimum if within 5 years of prior offense)
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • Drug/Alcohol testing
  • 0 – 9 months jail (10 days minimum if within 5 years of prior offense)
  • 1 – 2 years ignition interlock device
THIRD OFFENSE
(Outside of 10 Years of a Prior)
  • $2,000 – $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory misdemeanor conviction
  • 6 – 12 months probation
  • Applicable court costs
  • Level 2 DUI school and recommended treatment
  • Community Service hours
  • Victim impact panel
  • 6 months – 5 years driver’s license suspension (5 years minimum if within 5 years of a prior offense)
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • Drug/Alcohol testing
  • 0 – 12 months jail
  • 2 years ignition interlock device
THIRD OFFENSE
(Within 10 Years of a Prior)
  • $2,000 – $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory felony conviction
  • 0 – 5 years probation, in the discretion of the prosecutor or Court
  • Applicable court costs
  • Vehicle immobilization
  • 30 days – 5 years in County Jail or State Prison
  • 2 years ignition interlock device
  • 10 years – permanent driver’s license revocation
FOURTH OR SUBSEQUENT OFFENSE
  • $2,000 – $5,000 FINE
  • Mandatory felony conviction
  • 0 – 5 years probation, in the discretion of the prosecutor or Court
  • Applicable court costs
  • 0 – 5 years in County Jail or State Prison
  • Mandatory permanent driver’s license revocation

 

 

ADDITIONAL PENALTIES FOR ENHANCED DUI CASES
Enhanced Due to BAC of .15 or Above
  • $1,000 – $4,000 fine
  • 6 months ignition interlock device for first offense; 2 years for second offense
  • Increased conditions of probation in the discretion of the prosecutor or Court
  • 0 – 9 months jail for first offense; 0 – 12 months jail for second offense
Enhanced Due to Crash (First Offense)
  • $500 – $1,000 fine
  • Increased conditions of probation in the discretion of the prosecutor or Court
  • 0 – 12 months jail
Enhanced Due to Presence of Minor in the Vehicle
  • $1,000 – $4,000 fine
  • 6 months ignition interlock device for first offense; 2 years for second offense
  • Increased conditions of probation in the discretion of the prosecutor or Court
  • 0 – 9 months jail for first offense; 0 – 12 months jail for second offense
DUI Causing Serious Bodily Injury
  • $500 – $5,000 fine
  • Mandatory felony conviction
  • 0 – 5 years probation
  • 3 years permanent driver’s license revocation
  • 0 – 5 years in County Jail or State Prison
DUI Causing Death of Another Person
  • Mandatory permanent driver’s license revocation
  • 4 – 15 years mandatory state prison sentence
Ft. Lauderdale DUI Penalties
Palm Beach Gardens
  • Palm Beach Gardens
  • 800 Village Square Crossing
    Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Wellington
  • Wellington
  • 12230 Forest Hill Blvd
    Wellington , FL 33414
Ft Lauderdale
  • Ft Lauderdale
  • 507 SE 11th Ct
    #500
    Fort Lauderdale ,, FL 33316
West Palm Beach
  • West Palm Beach
  • 2101 Vista Parkway
    #1006
    West Palm Beach, , FL 33411
Delray Beach
  • Delray Beach
  • 2160 W Atlantic Ave
    2nd Floor
    Delray Beach, , FL 33445
Plantation
  • Plantation
  • 1200 S Pine Island Rd
    #220
    Plantation,, FL 33324
Boca Raton
  • Boca Raton
  • 2255 Glades Rd
    #324A
    Boca Raton, , FL 33431
Get Direction
  • Boca Raton
  • 2255 Glades Rd
    #324A
    Boca Raton, , FL 33431
iboca-raton-location
Get Direction
  • Plantation
  • 1200 S Pine Island Rd
    #220
    Plantation,, FL 33324
Plantation-location
Get Direction
  • Delray Beach
  • 2160 W Atlantic Ave
    2nd Floor
    Delray Beach, , FL 33445
Delray Beach
Get Direction
  • West Palm Beach
  • 2101 Vista Parkway
    #1006
    West Palm Beach, , FL 33411
west palm beach location
Get Direction
  • Ft Lauderdale
  • 507 SE 11th Ct
    #500
    Fort Lauderdale ,, FL 33316
Ft Lauderdale
Get Direction
  • Wellington
  • 12230 Forest Hill Blvd
    Wellington , FL 33414
Wellington
Get Direction
  • Palm Beach Gardens
  • 800 Village Square Crossing
    Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33410
Palm Beach  Gardens
Palm Beach  Gardens
Wellington
Ft Lauderdale
west palm beach location
Delray Beach
Plantation-location
iboca-raton-location