When people think of shoplifting crimes, they may think of kids in convenience stores, teenagers in department stores, or people down on their luck trying to survive. However, a shoplifting charge may threaten the accused with more than a slap on the wrist. Many conditions factor into the level of the offense charged, the penalty imposed, and whether any additional charges arise.
You could make your situation better by discussing these conditions with one of our experienced Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert. To cover your bases and consider your case from diverse angles, get in touch with a Sunrise shoplifting Lawyer for professional help and guidance.
Required Elements of a Shoplifting Offense
Retail theft, under §812.015 of the Florida Statutes, may involve several activities, such as taking away or assuming possession of valuables, taking away a shopping cart, taking an item from one container and placing it in another, or modifying or removing the price tag, product code, or label on a sales item. If the property allegedly taken has a value of at least $750, the offense constitutes a third-degree Felony. This, in turn, becomes a second-degree Felony if it involves certain conditions, including:
- A prior conviction of a similar offense
- A series of thefts of merchandise that, when taken during a 30-day period, has a collective value of $3,000
- A conspiracy to take and sell retail merchandise, including a subsequent transfer of control of the merchandise in exchange for value, if the property taken during a 30-day period has a collective value of more than $3,000
Someone facing a shoplifting charge arising from such circumstances could gain useful information and insight by arranging a consultation with a Sunrise shoplifting Attorney.
Circumstances That May Affect the Outcome of a Shoplifting Case
The offense of second-degree petit theft, under Florida Statutes §812.014, involves a theft other than grand theft, which increases from a second-degree to a first-degree Misdemeanor if the accused has a prior theft conviction. When two or more prior convictions exist, the offense may become a third-degree Felony. A second conviction of retail theft includes a fine of $5 to $1,000, but the court has the discretion to impose public service requirements in place of the fine.
Certain conditions may also arise in the course of the alleged offense and cause adverse consequences. Someone who resists lawful detainment by a police officer or merchant during or after a suspected retail theft may be charged with a first-degree Misdemeanor. Someone facing a shoplifting charge in Sunrise could discuss their case with an Attorney to consider approaches to having charges dropped or seeking alternative sentencing in lieu of a fine or prison sentence.
Get in Touch with a Sunrise Shoplifting Attorney Today
If you face a first or subsequent shoplifting charge, you have good reason to construct the best defense for yourself that conditions allow. One of our skilled Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert may be able to provide you with the guidance needed for building a solid defense to the charges made against you.
Get in touch with a Sunrise shoplifting Lawyer to defend yourself and protect your rights.