When you have been charged with a DUI offense in Boca Raton or surrounding areas in Southern Florida, you need an attorney who can defend your rights, explain your options, and aggressively pursue the most positive outcome possible in your case.
A Boca Raton DUI lawyer understands how frightening a DUI charge can be, which is why they will commit the fullest extent of their resources, knowledge, and experience to protecting your future and freedom. If you face DUI charges, contact a capable DUI attorney who can fight for you.
Driving Under the Influence Charges in Florida
Driving under the influence (DUI) is the unlawful act of operating a motor vehicle while impaired by alcohol or a controlled substance or with a blood or breath alcohol level that exceeds the legal limit. In order to convict someone of a DUI in Florida, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the accused drove or was in actual physical control of a vehicle, and while driving the vehicle was either under the influence of alcohol, chemical substances, or controlled substances to the extent that their normal faculties were impaired, or that they had a blood or breath alcohol level of .08 or above
Florida’s implied consent law establishes when it is appropriate for a police officer to request that a person under suspicion of DUI submit to a blood, breath, or urine test. Refusal to submit to a lawful request for a blood, breath, or urine test, after a DUI arrest will result in the immediate administrative suspension of the person’s driver’s license and is admissible as evidence at trial.
Prosecutors tend to rely on two kinds of evidence to prove that a person is guilty of driving under the influence–chemical tests (blood, breath, or urine) and physical signs of intoxication that are observed by the police officer during a traffic stop such as slurred speech, the smell of alcohol on someone’s breath, bloodshot eyes, and performance on field sobriety tests.
DUI Convictions and Penalties
Florida Statutes Section 316.193 lays out the various DUI offenses. The severity of punishment for DUI offenses varies greatly depending on whether the person has any previous DUI convictions and the specific facts of the case (e.g. if the DUI resulted in an accident causing property damage or personal injury).
- First DUI Conviction
- Fine: $500–$1,000
- Imprisonment: No minimum, maximum six months
- License Suspension: 180 days–1 year
- Second DUI Conviction
- Fine: $1,000–$2,000
- Imprisonment: Maximum nine months, Minimum ten days if within years of a prior DUI conviction
- License Suspension: Minimum five years ( if within years of a prior DUI conviction )
- Third DUI Conviction (more than 10 years after a prior conviction)
- Fine: $2,000–$5,000
- Imprisonment: Maximum 12 months
- License Suspension: 180 days–one year
- Third DUI Conviction (within 10 years of second conviction)
- Fine: $2,000-$5,000
- Imprisonment: Minimum 30 days, Maximum five years
- License Suspension: Minimum 10 years
- Fourth or Subsequent DUI Conviction
- Fine: Minimum $2,000
- Imprisonment: Maximum five years
- License Suspension: Permanent
Having a blood/breath alcohol level of 0.15 or higher or a minor (under 18) in the vehicle increases the penalties upon conviction. An attorney can work to mitigate potential penalties an individual might face following a DUI conviction in Boca Raton.
Value of a Boca Raton DUI Attorney
A Boca Raton DUI lawyer is dedicated to providing aggressive, compassionate, and personalized DUI representation to all clients. Reach out to an adept DUI attorney today and find out how they can put their extensive experience to work for you.