Local law enforcement takes second-time DUI charges seriously, and as a result, the punishments and penalties for a conviction can be life altering. If a court finds you guilty, there could be jail time, steep fines, the requirement to install an ignition interlock device, and license suspension without any hardship or work permit. It is never a good plan to take a guilty plea or do anything without first speaking with a knowledgeable DUI attorney.
There are many factors surrounding your arrest and criminal history the Judge and Prosecutor will take into consideration if the Court finds you guilty of the DUI charges. Factors such as how long ago your first driving under the influence arrest was, your blood alcohol content, or whether there were any injuries or property damage as a result of your DUI. Fortunately, an experienced Boca Raton second offense DUI lawyer could strategize with you for the best probable outcome.
What is the Look Back Period in Boca Raton?
When an individual faces charges for their second DUI arrest, the court will consider the “look-back” period for sentencing and penalties. The “look-back” period is the length of time in which an arrest for driving under the influence stays on a person’s criminal record. When a person faces convictions for DUI within a five-year period, state laws will enhance penalties, such as minimum jail time and the length of driver’s license suspension.
The consequences of a second DUI conviction will depend primarily on whether the sentence is within five years of the prior conviction. When second offense falls outside of the five-year look-back period, the court treats the conviction similarly to how they would for a fist time DUI conviction. A skilled Boca Raton attorney could answer any question a person has on the look-back period after being charged with DUI for the second time.
DUI convictions will be on a person’s record forever.
What are the Penalties for a Second Driving Under the Influence Offense?
Under Florida Statutes §316.193, an individual who commits the act of driving under the influence for a second time will face a first-degree misdemeanor:
- Jail term of up to nine months
- Probation term of up to 12 months
- Driver’s license suspension of a maximum of six months
- Fines from $1,000 to $2,000
- Thirty day Impoundment of vehicle
- Minimum 50 hours of community service
- Completion of DUI substance abuse course and psychosocial evaluation
Under Florida Statute 316.193(4), an individual could face penalties with enhancements when certain factors are present. Enhancement factors include the driver having a minor in the car at the time of arrest or a blood alcohol level of .15 percent or higher. A knowledgeable lawyer in Boca Raton could help someone mitigate the penalties of a second DUI offense.
Call a Boca Raton Second Offense DUI Attorney
A DUI conviction can have lifelong implications and repercussions. It could leave you with a mark on your permanent criminal record, cost you thousands of dollars, cause you to miss extended time from work, and even lose your driver’s license. With your future at stake, you do not want to face these charges without the help of an experienced Boca Raton second offense DUI lawyer. Call today to get started planning your defense.