Even though the Second Amendment to the Constitution gives United States citizens the right to own and bear arms, each state has its own regulations regarding gun ownership, open and concealed carry, and firearm use.
In Florida, violating these laws could lead to extensive prison time, hefty fines, and loss of the right to possess a weapon. En Español.
However, a gun lawyer in Broward County can defend your rights and fight zealously to protect your best interests. If you have been accused or arrested for a gun-related crime, contact a Broward County criminal attorney immediately. They can work to have your charges reduced or dismissed entirely.
What are the Laws Regarding Openly Carrying a Gun?
According to Florida Statutes section 790.053, it is illegal to openly carry a gun or electric weapon. However, individuals may openly carry a gun while going to and from hunting, fishing, camping, or while attending a gun show, as long as the individual has a valid license to carry a concealed weapon, and as long as the gun is not displayed in a threatening way.
Additionally, a person is legally allowed to openly carry a weapon used for self-defense other than a gun, such as pepper spray or a nonlethal stun gun.
If a Florida resident violates open carry laws, they could face second-degree misdemeanor charges, punishable by up to 60 days in jail and $500 in fines. To combat these charges, an individual should be sure to contact a Broward County gun attorney familiar with the 2nd Amendment in Florida as soon as possible.
Illegal Possession of a Firearm
In Broward County, Florida, there are some individuals who are not legally able to possess a firearm, including individuals who:
- Have past state or federal felony convictions
- Have committed crimes in other states that are considered felonies in Florida
- Have a history of substance abuse
- Are deemed mentally incompetent
- Are under the age of 16
- Have an active domestic violence-related restraining order or injunction
If a convicted felon possesses a firearm in Florida, they could face second-degree felony charges, which could lead to a maximum of 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000. Parents who allow children under the age of 16 to carry a weapon could face second-degree misdemeanor charges.
Additionally, if a person with an active domestic violence injunction possesses a gun, they could face first-degree misdemeanor charges, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of $1,000. These penalties can be argued against with the assistance of a gun attorney in Broward County.
What are the Requirements for Carrying a Concealed Weapon in Broward County?
The state of Florida allows for the carrying of a concealed weapon, however, individuals wishing to do so must have a special permit. Under Florida Statutes section 790.06, in order to obtain this permit, an individual must be over 21 years of age, be able to demonstrate competency with a gun, show a desire to use the firearm for lawful self-defense, and be eligible to own and possess a gun. These elements can be best described by a Broward County weapons charge attorney.
Even with the concealed carry permit, Floridians are not allowed to carry a concealed weapon in airport terminals, courtrooms, bars, schools, or colleges.
If an individual violates Broward County’s concealed carry laws, they could face third-degree felony charges for a first offense, and even more serious penalties if they have past offenses or a criminal background.
Contact an Attorney
If you have been charged with illegally possessing a firearm, carrying a concealed weapon without a permit, or any other gun-related crime, contact a dedicated gun attorney in Broward County right away to get the legal assistance you deserve.