Many people are unaware of how severe a fake ID charge can be. In Pompano Beach, the possession, creation, or sale of a false identification card is treated as a Felony, meaning you could potentially serve significant time in jail upon conviction for this offense.
If the Police have arrested you for a fake ID-related offense, you may want to enlist the help of one of our skilled fraud Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert. A Pompano Beach fake ID Lawyer may be able to offer you advice on how to approach this kind of allegation and develop an aggressive defense strategy to ensure a positive outcome.
Fake ID Laws in Pompano Beach
According to Florida state law, it is illegal to do any of the following:
- Knowingly possess or use a stolen or fake identification card
- Knowingly possess some item similar to a driver’s license for driving
- Knowingly possess some item used to determine a person’s age
- Deliberately make or sell or attempt to make or sell a fake or stolen ID
Some people may not realize that possessing a person’s identification card is a crime. You may have borrowed an older sibling’s ID, used Photoshop to alter the date of birth on a driver’s license, or purchased novelty identification from the internet.
The Police take these cases seriously, and you may face legal consequences if convicted. If facing criminal charges for any of these alleged actions, representation from a Pompano Beach fake ID Attorney could be critical.
Penalties for Possession or Sale of a Fake ID
As noted in Florida Statutes §322.212, the possession or sale of a fake ID may be charged as a third-degree Felony. If the Court convicts you of violating this statute, you may be sentenced to up to five years in prison and have to pay $5,000 in fines. If the Court considers you to be a habitual Felony offender, you may face increased penalties.
It is also a crime to alter the birth date on an ID card. This offense may be charged as a second-degree Misdemeanor, for which the Court may sentence you to up to 60 days in jail and order a fine of up to $500.
Penalty for Presenting a False ID or Driver’s License
If the Police request ID from you and you present a false driver’s license, that is also a crime under Florida Statutes §901.36. If you violate this rule, you may be charged with a first-degree Misdemeanor.
The Court could also send you to jail for up to one year and order you to pay a fine of up to $1,000. A fake ID Lawyer in Pompano Beach could help clarify how this offense may be charged and how best to go about contesting such an allegation against you.
Learn More from a Pompano Beach Fake ID Attorney
Unfortunately, you may not realize the severity of a fake ID charge until it is too late. Your educational opportunities may be affected, along with the possibility of securing a job in the future.
Fortunately, the assistance of an aggressive defense Attorney at Leifert & Leifert may affect the outcome of your case. Schedule an appointment with a Pompano Beach fake ID Lawyer to learn more about your options and how to pursue the best possible result.