It is essential that you are familiar with gun laws in Weston or you could be charged with a criminal offense for violating the law. Committing a gun offense could potentially result in forfeiture of your firearm, as well as a substantial fine and a period of incarceration if convicted. If you are facing gun charges, let a Weston gun Lawyer assist you.
One of our skilled criminal Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert can help you fight gun charges, while also safeguarding your constitutional rights. When you have a gun Lawyer on your side, you can have someone working to secure the best outcome possible for you.
Convicted Felons and Firearms Possession in Weston
If you have have been convicted of a Felony offense, you would be prohibited from owning or being in possession of any type of firearm. In addition, you may be charged with a Felony of the second degree with a maximum possible penalty that includes a $10,000 fine and 15 years in prison. A Weston gun Lawyer can answer questions about laws prohibiting felons from being in possession of a firearm.
Unlicensed Concealed Carry in Weston
The State of Florida prohibits the carrying of a concealed gun without the proper license. Licenses for carrying concealed guns are issued through the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. If you are found to be carrying a concealed weapon, you may be charged with a Felony of the third degree. You could also be placed on probation for up to five years, be ordered to pay a fine of up to $5,000, an/or face up to five years in jail.
Is Open Carry Legal in Florida?
Section 790.053 of the Florida statutes prohibits the open carrying of a gun. Doing so is a Misdemeanor offense and is punishable by a fine of $500 and imprisonment for a maximum of 60 days.
Discharging a Gun in Public in Weston
The law also prohibits the discharge of a gun in public, which is a Misdemeanor offense of the first degree. The penalties include a fine up to $1,000 and incarceration for a maximum term of one year.
It is a Felony of the second degree to discharge a gun from a vehicle within 1,000 feet of another person. The penalty for such an offense is a fine up to $10,000 and imprisonment for up to 15 years.
If you directly tell another person to discharge a gun from a vehicle you own or are driving at the time of the alleged action, you may be charged with a third-degree Felony. The sanctions for Felonies of the third degree include a fine up to $5,000 and imprisonment for up to five years.
What are the Penalties for Possession of a Firearm on School Property?
It is against the law to be in possession of a firearm on school property or at an event sponsored by a school, such as a fundraiser or a sports competition. Possession of a gun or firearm on school property or at a school event in Weston can be charged as a Felony in either the second or third degree.
The penalties for third-degree Felonies include up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. The penalties for second-degree Felonies may include up to 15 years in prison and a $10,000 fine.
Contact a Weston Gun Attorney for Assistance
A Weston gun Lawyer can provide crucial legal representation if you are facing charges for a gun or firearms offense. It is not advisable to fight the charges on your own as the penalties for a conviction can be severe. With an understanding of gun laws and the legal system, a gun Lawyer can fight the specific charges against you.
In addition to defending you against gun charges, an Attorney could also safeguard your constitutional rights, including the right to bear arms and the right to due process of law. To get started on a case, schedule a free consultation with one of our experienced Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert.