When a person is convicted of a sex offense, their life can change for the worse. Not only the do the penalties involve a lengthy Jail sentence, but a person convicted of this offense will have to register as a sex offender, making it difficult to lead a normal life after serving a conviction.
Contact a Weston sex crimes Lawyer if you have been accused of committing a sex-related offense. By choosing to work with one of our experienced Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert, you may be giving yourself a viable opportunity at mitigating the charges made against you. Schedule a free consultation today if you wish to begin a review of your case.
Sex Crimes in Weston
A sex-related offense can be charged as either a Misdemeanor or a Felony. Examples of offenses include:
- Sexual assault and battery
- Statutory rape
- Child pornography possession, creation, and distribution
- Prostitution and solicitation
- Child molestation
- Indecent exposure
- Sexual misconduct
What is the Dangerous Sexual Felony Offender Act?
The Dangerous Sexual Felony Offender Act states that, depending on the elements of the offense, an accused individual may be sentenced to a mandatory term of 25 years to life in prison. Specific elements which constitutes this level of punishments includes whether the accused person:
- Caused serious personal injury to the alleged victim
- Used or threatened to use a deadly weapon during the commission of the offense
- Allegedly victimized more than one person during the course of the crime
- Previously committed a violent sexual act
If a person exposes their genitalia in a public place, that is a first-degree Misdemeanor, according to Florida Statutes §800.03. The Court may sentence the actor to up to one year in Jail and order they pay a fine of $1,000.
If a 24-year-old person engages in a sexual act with a 16 or 17-year-old person, they may be charged with a second-degree Felony, as noted in Florida Statutes §794.05. The actor may face up to 15 years in prison. When the victim is less than 12 years old, the act is a capital Felony, which may result in a life sentence. They may also be ordered to pay a fine of $15,000.
When is Someone Required to Register as a Sex Offender?
When a person is convicted of committing a sex-related offense, they may be required to register as a sex offender upon conviction. No matter if the convicted person decides to move from Florida, they can have to register as a sex offender in every state you live in.
In addition, there is little hope for a person to be taken off the sex offender registry. Once a person is listed as a sex offender, they must stay on the list for life. In order to avoid being put on such a list, it is imperative that you work with a Weston sex crimes Lawyer.
Get Help from a Weston Sex Crimes Lawyer
If you have been formally charged with committing a sex-related offense, it is strongly recommended that you work with a Weston sex crimes Lawyer at Leifert & Leifert. With an experienced Attorney ready to fight on your behalf, you may be able to properly defend yourself in Court and avoid having your life ruined by a conviction. To get started on a case today, schedule a free consultation as soon as conveniently possible.