A prostitution charge could lead to unwanted consequences and disrupt your life significantly. If you wish to fight these kinds of allegations, getting in touch with a Jupiter prostitution lawyer at Leifert & Leifert could help strengthen your defense.
Do not let a charge related to prostitution control your future. If you are charged with such an offense, contact a dedicated criminal defense attorney from our firm and schedule a consultation as soon as possible.
When Would Someone Be Charged with Prostitution?
According to Florida Statutes §796.07, it is a crime to engage in—or agree to engage in—sexual activity in exchange for compensation. It is also an offense under this section to aid or abet another in committing the crime of prostitution. Furthermore, it is punishable under this statute to enter or remain in a place or building with the intent to commit the crime of prostitution.
If it is the case that a person is charged for entering or remaining in a place with the intent to engage in prostitution, testimony concerning the reputation of the people found in that place, including the Defendant, is admissible as evidence. This is a departure from typical rules of evidence, which normally prohibit character evidence.
Additionally, in contrast to typical Court procedure, a Law Enforcement Officer may testify as the offended party in a prostitution or solicitation trial.
However, due to the subjective nature of such testimony, a Jupiter prostitution attorney from Leifert & Leifert could help contest any potentially damaging testimony through cross-examination.
The potential punishments for prostitution may depend on whether a particular Defendant has received prior convictions for the same crime in the past. For a person’s first conviction, prostitution is considered a second-degree Misdemeanor. A second-degree Misdemeanor conviction could lead to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine in Jupiter.
A second conviction would be treated as a first-degree Misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $5000. A Defendant’s third prostitution conviction may be considered a third-degree Felony and carries potential penalties of up to five years in state prison and a fine of up to $5000.
What Happens after a Third Prostitution Conviction?
It is possible for a person convicted of a third prostitution charge to be admitted to a pre-trial substance abuse program, which could defer judgment and potentially lead to a dismissal of the third charge. A Jupiter prostitution lawyer could assist you with petitioning the Court for admission to this program, should your circumstances allow for it.
Accusation of Prostitution in Massage Parlors
If a person is charged with prostitution based on remaining in or entering a building for the purpose of committing engaging in sexual activity for a fee, and that particular location is a massage parlor which is, or is required to be, licensed as such under Florida law, their charge would be increased to the next highest level of severity. For example, a person’s first offense, which is normally treated as a second-degree Misdemeanor, may be treated as a first-degree Misdemeanor instead.
Contact a Jupiter Prostitution Attorney Today
If you receive a charge for prostitution or any related offense, a Jupiter prostitution lawyer may be able to assist you. There is much to dispute in a prostitution case, and there is no reason not to fight a charge.
A criminal charge can tarnish your criminal record and lead to fines and even jail time. Call today to learn more about your legal rights and options.