Of all offenses in Jupiter, driving under the influence (DUI) is one of the most common. While relatively common, a DUI could have serious repercussions from the suspension of your license to possible jail time. If you have been charged with driving under the influence, a Jupiter DUI Lawyer may be able to assist in defending your rights.
Facing the legal system alone can be frightening. You may not need to deal with each step of the process without legal counsel. At the Law Offices of Leifert & Leifert, a skilled Defense Attorney could work tirelessly to build a case that will be beneficial to you.
What are the DUI Laws and Penalties in Jupiter?
Florida Statute § 316.193 sets forth the general definition for a DUI. If you are driving or in control of a motor vehicle and are under the influence of alcohol or drugs to the extent that it impairs you, you have committed a DUI offense. You can also commit a DUI if you have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater.
Your BAC could be determined by taking a breathalyzer test. It is important to note that, in Jupiter, if you refuse to take this test, you could immediately have your license suspended.
First DUI Offense
Even a first-time DUI conviction may result in serious penalties. This could include a fine between $500 and $1,000 and incarceration for up to six months. Because of the potential severity of these penalties, you might benefit from the legal counsel of a DUI Attorney in Jupiter.
Second DUI Convictions
If you have a prior DUI conviction, you are likely to face progressively harsher penalties for any subsequent DUI offenses. A second DUI conviction could result in a fine ranging from $1,000 to $2,000 and a prison sentence of up to nine months. If you qualify for a restricted license, you must pay for the installation of an ignition interlock device (IID) on your vehicle.
Third DUI Charge
A third DUI conviction within a 10-year period from the date of any prior conviction is a third-degree Felony. This Felony conviction may lead to a prison sentence of up to five years and a maximum fine of $5,000. If convicted of a third DUI, you must also install an IID in your vehicle for two-years. Individuals facing second or third DUI convictions are recommended to contact one of our seasoned attorneys for advice.
What is the Likelihood of Having a License Suspended After a DUI Arrest?
After a DUI arrest, there are two separate cases to deal with. The first is a criminal case, which is filed and handled by the State. The other case involves the suspension of driving privileges by the Florida Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Typically, you will only have 10 days following an arrest to request a formal administrative review from the DMV.
While there is a chance for you to obtain a hardship license after a suspension, there could also be restrictions placed upon this process. The aid of an experienced Jupiter attorney might make the difference in how prepared you are for handling the various components of a DUI case.
Let a Jupiter DUI Attorney Help
A DUI conviction could have negative consequences that are far-reaching, professionally, financially, and personally. You may encounter problems getting a job and have to pay high fines, not to mention that an inability to drive could inhibit your ability to support yourself. A Jupiter DUI Lawyer may be able to help build a case in your defense.
Incarceration could mean the loss of your job and financial security. An Attorney at Leifert & Leifert understands the challenges you face and could work tirelessly to get you the best possible outcome under the circumstances. Call us for a free consultation.