Driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or another substance is a criminal offense in Pompano Beach that could potentially result in severe consequences. While facing DUI charges may be both frightening and overwhelming, you might not have to worry about handling everything on your own when you have a Pompano Beach DUI Lawyer on your side.
A DUI conviction could result in license suspension, fines, and even imprisonment depending on the circumstances. To achieve the best possible outcome in your case, it is best to have a skilled criminal defense Attorney from Leifert & Leifert working on your behalf.
What are the Laws Regulating Driving Under the Influence?
Under Florida Statutes §316.193, a person commits a DUI offense when they drive or are in physical control of a vehicle while simultaneously under the influence of an alcoholic beverage, a chemical substance, or a controlled substance. Chemical substances are outlined in Fla. Stat. §877.111 and could include nitrous oxide, methyl ethyl ketone, and isopropanol, among other chemicals. Controlled substances are listed in chapter 893 of the Florida statutes and may include various illicit narcotics and prescription medications.
You could be charged with DUI when your blood alcohol level is a minimum of 0.08 grams of alcohol per 100 ml of blood or your breath alcohol level is a minimum of 0.08 grams of alcohol per 210 liters of blood. Our Pompano Beach DUI Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert could provide more information about how Florida’s laws apply specifically to your case.
What are the Potential Penalties Following a DUI Conviction?
The penalties for a DUI offense could include jail time, fines, community service, probation, ignition interlock devices, vehicle impoundment, and even license suspension. The penalties may increase depending on age, blood alcohol content levels, the level of offenses, and several other factors.
The penalties for a first-time DUI conviction include a fine of between $500 and $1,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to six months. The penalties are more severe for subsequent DUI convictions. One of our DUI attorneys in Pompano Beach could help you understand the potential penalties you may face and could fight for you.
Penalties for Subsequent DUI Offenses
The potential penalties for a second DUI conviction include a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to nine months. Other penalties could include being limited to a restricted driver’s license and mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on any vehicle you operate for a minimum period of two years.
For a third DUI conviction, specific penalties could include a fine of between $2,000 and $5,000, and a term of imprisonment of up to 12 months. Subsequent DUI convictions are classified as third-degree felonies and could result in a higher fine and longer term of imprisonment.
Speak with a Pompano Beach DUI Lawyer
Attempting to fight a DUI charge on your own could be an overwhelming experience. It may not be easy to navigate the criminal justice system without professional legal assistance. It could also be difficult to try determining how best to represent and defend yourself.
You do not need to face the criminal justice system or DUI charges by yourself. A Pompano Beach DUI Lawyer could help you fight for the best legal outcome possible. Contact Leifert & Leifert today to get started on your case.