A gun-related criminal charge—even one as simple as carrying a concealed weapon without the proper license—could prove to be stressful and overwhelming. However, you do not have to face the charges alone.
A Pompano Beach gun lawyer from Leifert & Leifert could assist you with your case. Fighting gun charges on your own can be difficult, but an aggressive criminal defense attorney who is familiar with weapons and firearms laws could provide the legal assistance you need to fight for a favorable legal resolution to your case.
Gun laws applicable to Pompano Beach are established in Chapter 790 of the Florida Statutes on weapons and firearms. These statutes prohibit openly carrying any firearm, and doing so can result in criminal charges.
Florida state law also outlines the requirements for carrying a concealed weapon, which is only permissible with the proper license. Another gun-related activity prohibited in the State of Florida is the unlawful discharge of a gun on either public or residential property, even if only for target shooting practice or other recreational purposes.
Additional laws governing the possession, ownership, use, transportation, and sale of firearms are outlined in Chapter 790 of the Florida Statutes as well. A gun lawyer in Pompano Beach could explain how the gun laws apply to the specific charges an individual is facing, as well as discuss the potential punishments for a conviction on those specific charges.
Pompano Beach Gun Penalties
The penalties associated with convictions for gun-related offenses in Pompano Beach vary depending on whether the offense was a Misdemeanor or Felony. Additionally, the penalties differ among the different degrees of Misdemeanor and Felony offenses. Chapter 775 of the Florida Statutes outlines the range of penalties associated with each degree of Misdemeanor or Felony crime.
Carrying a concealed gun without the proper license is a first-degree Misdemeanor, as is the unlawful discharge of a gun on public or residential property. The possible penalties for a first-degree Misdemeanor include a fine of up to $1,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to one year.
Openly carrying a gun is a second-degree Misdemeanor, the penalty for which is a fine of up to $500 and a term of imprisonment of up to 60 days. The willful firing of a gun out of a vehicle when other people are in the vicinity is a second-degree Felony, the penalty for which is a fine of up to $10,000 and a term of imprisonment of up to 15 years.
Other types of gun-related offenses could be associated with more severe penalties than those already mentioned. A Pompano Beach gun lawyer at Leifert & Leifert could answer questions regarding the possible punishments for specific gun-related crimes an individual might be facing charges for.
Discuss Legal Options with a Pompano Beach Gun Attorney Today
You do not have to endure the stress and worry of facing gun charges alone. A qualified attorney from Leifert & Leifert could provide both legal assistance and representation. With legal counsel on your side, you could have someone working on your behalf to obtain a positive legal outcome.
A gun lawyer who is familiar with Florida gun laws could provide the legal assistance you need to resolve your case in a satisfactory manner. Speak with a Pompano Beach gun lawyer today to get started.