A charge of driving under the influence of alcohol or other substances can have significant effects, especially if you have faced such charges in the past. However, while a DUI charge is not exactly welcomed by most people, they are not insurmountable either. Both valid defenses and invalid evidence could exist and work in your favor.
If you seek information about these or any other potentially mitigating factors that may influence the outcome in your case, contact one of our skilled Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert who understands the charges you face. A Sunrise DUI Lawyer could review the circumstance of your case and determine what steps you should take next. Call today to schedule a consultation.
Driving a Motor Vehicle in Sunrise while Intoxicated
Per §316.193 of the 2019 Florida Statutes, a driver potentially faces a conviction of driving under the influence when stopped by the police if their blood contains at least .08 grams of alcohol for every 100 milliliters of blood, if their breath contains at least .08 grams of alcohol for every 210 liters of breath, or if their cognitive capabilities are impeded by alcohol or some intoxicating substance. Several factors affect the offense charged and the potential penalty imposed, including:
- The number of prior offenses, if any, and how long ago they occurred
- Whether the incident involved physical injury, death, or harm to another’s property Whether the driver assisted and provided information after a collision, as required by law
- Whether the driver had a minor under the age of 18 in the vehicle with them
- Whether the amount of alcohol in the driver’s blood or breath exceeded the level of .15 for, respectively, every 100 milliliters of blood or 210 liters of breath
A first conviction can bring a fine of $500 to $1,000 or a prison sentence of up to six months.
The DUI offenses provided in §316.1932 through 316.1939 of the 2019 Florida Statutes state that anyone who drives in Sunrise gives implied consent to having their blood or breath tested for alcohol or their urine tested for other substances if, upon being legally arrested for any reason, the arresting officer finds sufficient reason to believe that they were driving while under the influence. Conversely, a driver who is not intoxicated may ask to take a test if the officer has not requested that they take one. Such tests are not 100 percent accurate, and if you failed, refused to take, or were not offered one and now face a DUI charge, a Sunrise Attorney could help you beat the charge by calling the evidence in the case into question.
Operating Other Vessels while Under the Influence
Under §860.03 and 860.13 of the 2019 Florida Statutes, someone may be charged with a third-degree Felony for operating an aircraft either while impaired by any of the substances discussed above or incautiously to a degree that places others or others’ property at risk. A person controlling a steamship, train, or railway while under the influence may be charged with a second-degree Misdemeanor.
Charges such as these, especially if compounded by additional charges for harming people or property, could put your interests and livelihood at risk. Someone facing such charges could explore their options for a strong defense by reaching out to an understanding DUI Attorney in Sunrise.
Contact a Sunrise DUI Attorney Today for Help
Whatever legal difficulties you face, one of our Attorneys at Leifert & Leifert could help you frame the facts in your case to your benefit. A DUI may appear daunting, but you are hardly the first driver to be charged with one.
Look for an Attorney who could help clear the hurdles in your path. Contact a Sunrise DUI Lawyer who knows the legal system and how to use it to your advantage. Call to schedule a consultation today.