Ft. Lauderdale Felony DUI Lawyer
When an individual is charged with a third DUI within 10 years of a prior DUI offense the individual being charged is facing a felony. In Broward County and throughout the rest of Florida, this offense is treated extremely seriously and carries penalties of up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines. Due to the seriousness of these penalties and all other long-term consequences that may occur as the result of a felony conviction, it is imperative anyone accused consult with a Ft Lauderdale felony DUI lawyer as soon as possible. A defense attorney with experience dealing with DUI charges can help protect the rights of the accused individual and ensure that a strong defense is built.
Previous DUI Charges
When our Ft Lauderdale felony DUI attorneys deal with prior DUIs, be aware that we are referring to any and all DUI convictions that you have had in the past, regardless of the state in which you were convicted of the crime. Even out of state convictions count as priors in Florida; a prior, regardless of where it took place, is always a prior and never goes away and it will count against you if and when you get another DUI in that same state or in a new state.
Similarly, as our Ft Lauderdale felony DUI attorneys know, according to s. 316.193, an individual who has been convicted of a fourth or subsequent DUI—regardless of when the previous DUI took place—will also be guilty of a third-degree felony. As such, such a person faces up to 5 years in prison and/or $5,000 in fines. For this crime of a fourth or subsequent DUI, though, the fines may not be less than $2,000. In addition to the jail time and/or fines, the convicted individual must pay for an ignition interlock device to be approved by the local law enforcement department upon all vehicles owned or leased either individually or jointly by the convicted individual (when the convicted individual qualifies for a permanent or restricted license).
Furthermore, any person who, while driving under the influence of any of the aforementioned substances, causes serious bodily injury to another, commits a third-degree felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or $5,000 in fines. (If the offender who has caused serious bodily injury is a habitual or violent felony offender, they face punishment as prescribed in s. 775.084.)
If you have been arrested for or charged with a DUI in Palm Beach, Broward or Miami-Dade County, contact the Ft Lauderdale Felony DUI attorneys at Leifert & Leifert immediately.