Our Ft Lauderdale DUI defense attorneys know that the Florida State Statutes (specifically s. 316.193, s. 322.271 and s. 322.291) outline the requirements for DUI programs. The DUI school programs are private and professional non-profit organizations that are licensed to provide education, psychosocial evaluations, and treatment referral services to DUI offenders to satisfy judicial and driver licensing requirements.
Florida DUI School Program
The DUI school program has a two-tiered educational structure; Level I is for first-time offenders and Level II is for those with multiple offenses. The former involves a minimum of 12 hours of classroom instruction and incorporates instructive and interactive educational techniques, while the latter involves a minimum of 21 hours of classroom time and uses primarily interactive educational techniques in a group setting.
Typically, the average class size is not to exceed 15 students/offenders in Level II, in which courses focus on the problems of the repeat offender and treatment readiness, as the majority of students/offenders enrolled in Level II of DUI programs have been referred to treatment.
The provisions associated with attending DUI programs vary with the type of DUI-related offense in question as our lawyers have outlined below.
First Conviction: Offender must complete DUI school before hardship reinstatement. Offenders who wait out revocation period before reinstatement need only show proof of enrollment or completion to become re-licensed. If offender enrolls and is reinstated after revocation period expires, failure to complete the DUI program within 90 days after reinstatement will result in cancellation of the license; the driver cannot then be re-licensed until DUI school is completed.
Second Conviction in 5 Years (5-Year Revocation) or Third Conviction in 10 Years (10-Year Revocation): Offender must complete DUI school following their conviction. See requirements in 13C and 13D respectively.
DUI Manslaughter With No Prior DUI-Related Conviction: (Permanent Revocation): Must complete DUI school before hardship reinstatement.
Manslaughter, DUI Serious Bodily Injury, or Vehicular Homicide: (Minimum 3-year Revocation): See 13F
Individuals Who Wait Until Revocation Period Expires: Must enroll in DUI school and pass the driver license examinations to be re-licensed. Failure to complete the school within 90 days after such reinstatement will result in cancellation of the license until the school is completed.
Reckless Driving: If the court has reasonable cause to believe that the use of alcohol, chemical or controlled substances contributed to a violation of reckless driving, the person convicted of reckless driving must complete DUI school if ordered by the court.
Treatment: Treatment resulting from a psychosocial evaluation may not be waived without a supporting psychosocial evaluation by a court appointed agency with access to the original evaluation.
Contacting A Lawyer
If you have been arrested for or charged with a DUI-related offense in Broward County, contact our Ft Lauderdale defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Leifert & Leifert immediately. We look forward to assisting you.
The hiring of a Florida criminal defense lawyer is an important decision that should not be based solely upon advertisements. Before you decide, ask us to send you free written information about our qualifications and experience. This web site is designed for general information only. The information presented at this site should not be construed to be formal legal advice or the formation of a criminal defense attorney/client relationship.
1200 S Pine Island Rd #220 Plantation, FL 33324 Phone: (954) 424-7433 Fax: 954-424-2200
2160 W Atlantic Ave 2nd Floor Delray Beach, FL 33445 Phone: (561) 988-8000 Fax: 561-988-8100