Hollywood DUI Lawyer
If you were charged with a DUI, you may be wondering how to respond and defend yourself effectively in court. A Hollywood DUI Lawyer from Leifert & Leifert could help you answer those questions and handle anything the Prosecution throws at you.
After an initial consultation, our accomplished defense Attorneys could review and investigate your case to be sure we have all the evidence favorable to your defense. Then, we could work with you to come up with a defense strategy that helps you pursue a positive result.
DUI Laws Applicable to Hollywood
Florida Statutes §316.193 dictates that the State of Florida criminalizes driving under the influence (DUI) of alcoholic beverages, certain chemical substances, or controlled substances. To be convicted of a DUI, an individual must have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. For the first offense, you may face up to six months in prison and fined between $500 and $1,000 if you are convicted of a DUI.
A Law Enforcement Officer may use a chemical or physical test to establish the BAC of a driver suspected of driving under the influence, as per Fla. Stat. §316.1932. Officers could sample blood or breath to determine if alcohol was present while operating a motor vehicle. Our dedicated Hollywood DUI Lawyers could explain how DUI laws and chemical or physical tests affect your criminal case.
Repeat Drinking and Driving Offenses
Florida state law increases the potential penalties for those charged with a second DUI. Under Fla. Stat. §316.193, a person convicted of a second DUI may face a prison term of up to nine months and a fine of between $1,000 and $2,000. A court may also order the mandatory placement of an ignition interlock device on the Defendant’s vehicle for a minimum period of one year.
Any person convicted of a third DUI within 10 years would have a third-degree Felony charged added to their record. Such felonies carry a maximum potential prison sentence of five years, according to Fla. Stat. §775.082.
A court may also order placement of an ignition interlock device for up to two years. Since a third DUI conviction may be classified as a Felony, any person facing their third or fourth DUI charge should call our seasoned Lawyers from Leifert & Leifert for assistance immediately.
Increased Penalties for Higher BAC Levels
Florida also imposes increased punishments for drivers who have high BAC levels. Under Fla. Stat. §316.1932, a person convicted of their first DUI may face a prison term of up to nine months instead of six if their BAC is 0.15 percent or higher at the time of their arrest.
In these cases, the court could also order placement of an ignition interlock device immediately after the first conviction. Typically, courts may only order placement of such devices after a second DUI conviction. If you are facing charges for a DUI with high BAC levels, you may benefit from retaining one of our DUI Attorneys in Hollywood to review your case.
How a Hollywood DUI Attorney Could Help
For many people, a DUI represents their first experience dealing with the legal system as a Defendant. If you need help with a DUI case, contact Leifert & Leifert and set up a consultation with a Hollywood DUI Lawyer from our team as soon as possible. We could sit down with you, answer any questions you have, and then work on a defense plan customized for the specific facts of your case.