Understanding assault charges and determining when they could be applicable may be complicated since there are various forms of assault cases listed under Florida state law. Assault does not necessarily involve physical contact—depending on the circumstances, it could consist solely of verbal or written threats.
If you have been charged with assault in Florida, you may need to call a Hollywood assault Lawyer from Leifert & Leifert to protect your rights. Our skilled defense Attorneys could analyze your case and recommend the best course of action for you. We know how to defend those accused of assault and could use all our resources to help you achieve a positive resolution to your case.
What are the Assault Laws in Hollywood?
Florida Statutes §784.011 describes “assault” as an intentional threat of violence towards another person which creates a reasonable fear of imminent harm in that person. An assault could occur when a person physically threatens another and the other person reasonably believes they will be attacked.
Florida state law classifies assault as a second-degree Misdemeanor, which may result in a prison term of up to 60 days in accordance with Fla. Stat. §775.082. An assault conviction could also carry a potential fine of up to $500. While Misdemeanors are comparatively minor charges compared to Felonies, it could still be important for anyone facing assault charges to have representation from a skilled assault attorney in Hollywood to ensure their rights are upheld throughout Prosecution.
What is Aggravated Assault?
While assault is punishable as a misdemeanor, aggravated assault is much more serious. Under Fla. Stat. §784.021, aggravated assault occurs when an individual commits assault either with a deadly weapon without the intent to kill or an intent to commit a Felony.
In either case, a person convicted of aggravated assault is guilty of a third-degree Felony. Such felonies are potentially punishable by up to five years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000. Due to the potentially serious nature of aggravated assault charges, Defendants facing an assault charge are recommended to call our Hollywood assault lawyers at Leifert & Leifert immediately.
Assaults Against Senior Citizens
Florida has special provisions for those convicted of assault or aggravated assault against a senior citizen. Under Fla. Stat. §784.08, an individual convicted of assault against a person 65 years of age or older faces a minimum of up to three years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. The Defendant must make restitution to their alleged claimant and perform up to 500 hours of community service work. A knowledgeable criminal defense lawyer could help a person understand how special provisions may affect their case.
The degree of punishment for an assault against a senior citizen also increases by one step. A simple assault against a senior citizen is classified as a first-degree Misdemeanor and not a second-degree Misdemeanor. Aggravated assault against an individual 65 years of age or older is classified as a second-degree felony and not a third-degree felony.
Let a Hollywood Assault Attorney Help
While being accused of any crime is unpleasant and is likely to cause disruption to your life, assault charges may be notably serious since they potentially involve time in prison. If you have been charged with assault, be sure to protect yourself and your rights with strong legal representation.
Call Leifert & Leifert today to schedule a consultation with a dedicated Hollywood assault Lawyer. Our legal team could review your case, advise you on your legal options, and represent your interests both in court and out-of-court.